CATSWHISKERSTOURS WHISKY THEMED TOUR OF SCOTLAND

Day 1

Arrive Glasgow (0930?)

After the tiring flight this will be a relatively quiet day visiting interesting sites in and around Glasgow including:

In the evening a special, whisky themed dinner overseen by a whisky industry expert.

Overnight at the five star, One Devonshire Gardens www.onedevonshiregardens.com

Day 2

  • Collect at 0915 for drive to Ardrossan (approx. 45 mins)
  • Ferry to Isle of Arran www.arran.uk.com

  • Ferry to Claonaig then short 5 mile drive to
  • Kennacraig and ferry to
  • Port Askaig, Islay www.islay.co.uk

Overnight on Islay at the four star Port Charlotte Hotel

www.milford.co.uk/scotland/accom/h-a-1729.html

Visit Scotland’s islands with catswhiskerstours

Day 3

Visit selected Islay distilleries, i.e.

Overnight on Islay at the four star, Port Charlotte Hotel www.milford.co.uk/scotland/accom/h-a-1729.html

Enjoy Scotland’s whiskey with catswhiskerstours

Day 4

Ferry to Kennacraig

Then scenic drive to Mallaig via:

· Glencoe www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/glencoe/glencoe

· Glenfinnan www.road-to-the-isles.org.uk/glenfinnan.html

Overnight at the four star, Cnoc-Na-Faire Hotel www.cnoc-na-faire.co.uk

Day 5

Ferry to Ardvasar, Isle of Skye and

· Clan Donald Centre www.Clandonald.com

· Dunvegan Castle www.dunvegancastle.com

· Talisker Distillery www.scotlandwhisky.com/distilleries/highlands/Talisker

Overnight at the three star Eilean-Iarmain Hotel www.eileaniarmain.com

Enjoy Isle of Skye with catswhiskerstours

Day 6

To Inverness via

· Eilean Donan Castle www.eileandonancastle.com

· Castle Urquhart www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/drumnadrochit/urquhart

· Loch Ness www.lochness.co.uk

· Moniak Winery www.moniackcastle.co.uk/

Overnight at Glenmoriston Town House www.glenmoriston.com

Enjoy Inverness with catswhiskerstours

Day 7

To Pitlochry www.scottish-towns.co.uk/perthshire/pitlochry

via

· Culloden Battlefield www.highlanderweb.co.uk/culloden/home.htm

· Macallan Distillery www.scotlandwhisky.com/distilleries/speyside/Macallan

· Balvinie Distillery – See extract below from previous catswhiskerstours tour Blog


“During the day we try to locate the distillery which produces Balvinie whisky. We track it down to Dufftown in Banffshire but, incredibly, it is not in the phone book! Following further research we ascertain that it is connected to Glenfiddich www.glenfiddich.com on 0134082000. Tours of Balvinie last 3 hours (max 8 persons) and occur at 1000 and 1400 daily Monday-Thurs and Friday at 1000. Cost is GBP20 per person.”

Overnight at the four star Atholl Palace Hotel www.athollpalace.co.uk

Visit Pitlochry with catswhiskerstours

Day 8

· Edradour Distillery (Scotland’s smallest) www.edradour.co.uk/index2.html

· Dunkeld and environs www.scottish-towns.co.uk/perthshire/dunkeld

· Castle Campbell www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/dollar/castlecampbell

Overnight at the five star, Fairmont www.hotelreviewscotland.com/hotel.asp?id=107 in the ancient medieval city of St. Andrews www.saint-andrews.co.uk/staindex.html which sits at the heart of world golfing.

Visit the famous Old Course. www.standrews.org.uk/golf/the_courses/old_course.html

Visit the Old Course with catswhiskerstours

Day 9

Scenic drive through Fife Coast/ East Neuk www.visitscotland.com/library/eastneuk to :

· Rosslyn Chapel (Da Vinci Code) www.rosslynchapel.org.uk

· Edinburgh, including the famous:

· Castle www.aboutbritain.com/EdinburghCastle.htm

· Royal Mile www.edinburgholdtown.org.uk

· Holyrood House. www.royal.gov.uk/output/page559.asp

Overnight at Sheraton Grand www.luxuryscotland.co.uk/directory_members/sheraton/index.html

Visit Edinburgh in style with catswhsikerstours

Day 10

Return flight to

Be Sociable, Share!