An image of the famous Dupplin Cross can be found in the catswhiskerstours photo gallery.

The cross dates to about AD 820 and up until the 1990s is sat on a hill at nearby Forteviot. Thereafter it was sent to Edinburgh for a short period before being “repatriated” to Dunning. Condition is incredibly good considering it’s exposure to the elements for nearly 1200 years.

Original plan was to house the cross permanently in Edinburgh but the authorities responded to a campaign by local people and the cross was returned to Dunning in 1992. It now occupies pride of place in Dunning Church which itself is now a museum under the control of Historic Scotland. There is a guide on hand during the tourist season to explain the Cross to visitors.

The Cross is made form sandstone from the Galloway region of Scotland.

Side View 1

Top section represents a serpent devouring its own tail.

Mid section shows King David

Bottom section depicts a Pictish knot (no beginning and no end).

Note that carvings of people with large heads indicates high status.

Side View 2

Top section represents hunting dogs.

Mid section depicts two generals.

Front View

At the top there are vines which evoke the Eucharist.

The round boss at the centre may indicate either the sun or a loaf of bread.

Below the arm is a representation of King Constantine. Below him are figures with smaller heads which indicates persons of lesser importance.

At the foot are hunting dogs.

Rear

Blank section at the rear has been subject to infra-red investigation and found to contain Latin script with references to Constantine, son of Fergus.

Be Sociable, Share!