Newark Castle, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 This morning, I visited Port Glasgow to research addresses pertinent to John McKay and his wife Agnes Sweeney who resided in the town, as did their respective parents, prior to the McKay couple’s eventual emigration to the U.S.A. in 1920s. 

 Elizabeth Jamieson’s residence 1881-1889, 102 Bouverie Street.

 Below are 14-38 Bouverie Street which are vacant and scheduled to be demolished. There appear to be no other houses on this street today.

14-38 Bouverie Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Bouverie Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Bouverie Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 John McKay and Agnes Sweeney resided at 40 Bay Street in 1915.

Bay Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

  

Bay Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Port Glasgow and River Clyde, Scotland

 John McKay and Agnes Sweeney married Jan 30th 1915 at St. John the Baptist Church, Port Glasgow. 

Patrick Sweeney and Esther (Hester) McAlinden were married at St. John’s on Nov 24th 1884.

St. John the Baptist Church, Port Glasgow, Scotland

St. John the Baptist Church, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Replica of PS Comet, 1812. The original vessel provided the first commercial steam passenger service in Europe.

Replica of PS Comet, 1812, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 In 1901 Agnes Sweeney and her parents, Patrick Sweeney and Esther McAlinden resided at 9 Holmes Land, Chapel Lane, Port Glasgow.

The Lane as such appears to no longer exist but images of the successor are provided below. The lane was named after the nearby R.C. St. John the Baptist Church. 

Chapel Lane, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Chapel Lane, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Chapel Lane, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Chapel Lane, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 In 1881 Esther McAlinden, parent of Agnes Sweeney, resided at Highholm Aveneue, Port Glasgow.

Highholm Avenue, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 Shore Street, Port Glasgow with St. John the Baptist Church on right.

Shore Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 Patrick Sweeney and Esther (Hester) McAlinden resided at 35 Princes Street in 1886.

Princes Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Princes Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 John McKay and Elizabeth Jamieson lived at 29 Church Street, Port Glasgow in 1889.

Church Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 John McKay and Elizabeth Jamieson lived at 7 Crawford Street in 1915. 

Crawford Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

Crawford Street, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 Ferguson Shipbuilders Ltd., last remaining commercial shipbuilder on Lower Clyde. Close to this site is believed to be Clune Brae Foot, where John McKay and Agnes Sweeney resided prior to emigration to U.S  in 1920s.

Ferguson’s Shipbuilders, Port Glasgow, Scotland

 Here is a video clip of Port Glasgow taken from a central vantage point.

Be Sociable, Share!