038

This afternoon, I am posting information and images on the historic village of Cumbernauld as distinct from the adjacent new town of same name. The village is located in the county of North Lanarkshire and some 14 miles N.E.of Glasgow.

Origins

The village has medieval origins, as manifested in the long main street with castle at one end and church at other end. To the south side of the main street are ‘land riggs’  (long vegetable gardens).

Industries and Occupations

  • Historically, weaving was very important, employing 560 persons by the mid 1800s.
  • Until the advent of the 1950s new town, some 50 farms were in operation in the area producing crops and livestock products.
  • Limestone mines were worked during the 1790s.
  • In the 1840s Netherwood Colliery ( coal mine) was an employer of both men and boys. In 1935 a coal mine was sunk at Dullatur by the Cadzow Coal Company.
  • Ironstone was mined near Netherwood for use in the Carron Ironworks.
  • Local clay deposits were used to produce fireclay bricks and tiles in both Cumbernauld and nearby Castlecary.

Cumbernauld Old Parish Church (Kirk)

Presbyterian worship is practised here now but the church has its origins in a Roman Catholic Chapel built by the then powerful Comyn family in the late 12th or early 13th century. Over the succeeding centuries the church building has been repaired, restored and enlarged. Adjacent to the church is an extensive burial ground.

Langriggs

This is a Scots term for narrow strips of land, divided by hedges, which were used by villagers for production of vegetables, fruit and livestock products, mainly for home consumption.

Cumbernauld House

A mansion designed by leading Scots architect, William Adam which was completed in 1746 for Lord John Fleming, 6th Earl of Wigton. It is not symmetrical because the intended matching pavilions on right side of house were not completed due to lack of funds.

The House is built on site of former medieval castle which was severely damaged during the civil wars of the 17th century. Foundations of the castle are still visible in the grounds surrounding the House.

The House remained under control of a succession of private owners until sold to Cumbernauld Development Corporation, a public body, in 1955. It has since been converted to private apartments.

The House is surrounded by parkland which is open to the public.

Bell Tower

Image immediately below shows the Bell Tower in the Wynd (narrow lane) which dates from 1743. This tower was originally associated with the United Free Kirk. The Kirk (church) building was once used as a Burgher Meeting House and is now a Community Hall.

043

Wynd with Bell Tower

048

Black Bull Pub in Main Street.

066

Main Street.

075

Main Street.

001

Ilustration of old Land Riggs.

051

Land Riggs today

076

Land Riggs today

078

Wynd with Bell Tower

060

Bell in Bell Tower.

101

Cumbernauld Old Parish Church

069

Burial Ground

014

Cumbernauld House Park

045

Cumbernauld House

103

Be Sociable, Share!